Knife laws in Connecticut can be a little bit tricky. This article will clear everything up for you. It presents Connecticut knife law in simple English as well as quotes from the actual code.
Connecticut knife laws are very nice. There is no specific knife that is illegal and limitations are only on the carry of knives.
Sec. 53-206. Carrying of dangerous weapons prohibited.
(a) Any person who carries upon his or her person[…] any switch knife, or any knife having an automatic spring release device by which a blade is released from the handle, having a blade of over one and one-half inches in length, or stiletto, or any knife the edged portion of the blade of which is four inches or more in length[…] or any other dangerous or deadly weapon or instrument, shall be fined not more than five hundred dollars or imprisoned not more than three years or both.
c. 29-38. Weapons in vehicles. Penalty. Exceptions.
(a) Any person who knowingly has, in any vehicle owned, operated or occupied by such person, any weapon […] shall be fined not more than one thousand dollars or imprisoned not more than five years or both, and the presence of any such weapon […] in any vehicle shall be prima facie evidence of a violation of this section by the owner, operator and each occupant thereof. The word “weapon”, as used in this section, means any […] dirk knife or switch knife, any knife having an automatic spring release device by which a blade is released from the handle, having a blade of over one and one-half inches in length, any stiletto, any knife the edged portion of the blade of which is four inches or more in length, […] or any other dangerous or deadly weapon or instrument.
The above two laws do not apply if you are in the military going to and from duty/drill, transporting them for a trade show or sale, moving from your old house to your new house, getting it repaired, in a reenactment, or if have a license for hunting, fishing, or trapping and are going to use it for hunting, fishing, and trapping.
It is 100% legal to carry a Balisong knife as long as the Balisong is less than 4 inches in length. A Balisong is not a switchblade (there is no switch that will open it) or an automatic knife (there is no spring that will open it, you need to flick your wrist).
Knives that have no real purpose besides stabbing cannot be carried if it is longer than 1.5 inches. This means stilettos, daggers, dirks, and other long, thin, double-edged knives with a sharp point.
You can own any knife you want but you need to watch out on what knife you carry. Stilettos and automatic knives can not be carried if it is over 1.5 inches. You can carry any other knife if it is less than 4 inches. Fisherman, hunters, and trappers can carry whatever they like as long as it is used for fishing, hunting, or trapping. The penalty is $500 and/or 3 years in jail. Having one of those weapons in a vehicle is a $1,000 penalty and/or 5 years in jail.
Note that I am not a lawyer and this is not legal advice. The above was all found on LexisNexis. Talk to a lawyer if you would like legal advice. Post questions in the comment box below and I’ll try to answer them the best I can. We are also looking for a lawyer to do an interview about Connecticut knife laws.
KnifeUp was founded in 2010. Today, KnifeUp is the home to knife experts who provide clear, unbiased, practical advice on buying and maintaining knives to make your life easier.
Whether you’re looking to buy a knife, sharpen it or understand the knife laws, KnifeUp’s 11-year strong library of over 300 pieces of professionally researched content will answer your questions with straightforward answers.
© 2021 KnifeUp. All Rights Reserved. Sitemap