Home Knife Law Wyoming Knife Laws

Wyoming Knife Laws

Wyoming Knife Laws
Equal Rights

Wyoming knife laws are very short and rather vague. This article pieces together the statutes and case law so that anyone can understand what is legal and what is not when it comes to owning and carrying knives in the state of Wyoming.

What is Legal to Own

  • It is legal to own a switchblade
  • It is legal to own a Balisong, or butterfly knife
  • It is legal to own a bowie knife
  • It is legal to own a dirk, dagger, poniard, or other stabbing knife
  • It is legal to own a stiletto
  • It is legal to own a gravity knife

What is Illegal to Own

Wyoming law does not prohibit the ownership of any type of knife.

Restrictions on Carry

It is illegal to conceal carry a deadly weapon in Wyoming.

Definitions of Various Types of Knives

Neither the Wyoming statutes, nor the case law, offer a definition of any type of knife. This is likely due to the fact that the conceal carry statute does not mention any specific knife, but makes it illegal to conceal carry any ‘dangerous weapon’.

Definition of Deadly Weapon

Wyoming statute defines deadly weapon as a firearm, explosive or incendiary material, motorized vehicle, an animal or other device, instrument, material or substance, which in the manner it is used or is intended to be used is reasonably capable of producing death or serious bodily injury. Serious bodily injury is also defined by statute as bodily injury which creates a substantial risk of death or which causes miscarriage, severe disfigurement, or protracted loss or impairment of the function of any body part or organ.

In Conine v. State, the jury found that a frying pan, used by Conine to hit the victim during a fight, was a deadly weapon. Conine appealed his conviction, and the Supreme Court of Wyoming found that in order to find an instrument a deadly weapon, it did not have to cause serious bodily injury, it only had to be capable of doing so.

What the Law States

§ 6-8-104.  Wearing or carrying concealed weapons; penalties; exceptions; permits.

(a) A person who wears or carries a concealed deadly weapon is guilty of a misdemeanor punishable by a fine of not more than seven hundred fifty dollars ($750.00), imprisonment in the county jail for not more than six (6) months, or both for a first offense, or a felony punishable by a fine of not more than two thousand dollars ($2,000.00), imprisonment for not more than two (2) years, or both, for a second or subsequent offense….

Conclusion on Wyoming Knife Law

It is illegal to conceal carry a deadly weapon in Wyoming.

It is legal to own and open carry any type of knife.


  • Wyo. Stat. § 6-8-104 (2012)
  • Wyo. Stat. § 6-1-104 (2012)
  • Conine v. State, 197 P.3d 156 (2008 Wyo.)


  1. Update for you on Wyoming Concealed carry law. It is now legal for residents of the state to conceal carry deadly weapons on their person without a permit as long as they meet the qualifications listed on the application for a concealed weapons permit in the state.

  2. Er…..I don’t know where you got your information but Wyoming does allow concealed carry. Also a resident does not need a concealed carry permit. A law was passed about a year ago that made concealed carry legal. Better get more info and a better source of info as well!

  3. This articles is incorrect. Governor Mead signed into law in June 2011 allowing the concealed carry of forearms without a permit. Yes no permit needed.

    Wyoming honors the true meaning of shall not be infringed.

  4. I think we’re confusing firearms with other deadly weapons. I’ve never understood why, but the Wyoming permit for concealed carry has always applied ONLY to FIREARMS. (That’s why it’s called a CFP.) Other states’ concealed carry permits apply to all deadly weapons. It doesn’t make sense, but I think in Wyoming one can be convicted of concealed carry of a DEADLY NON-FIREARM WEAPON when one could NOT be convicted of concealed carry of a firearm. If I have a permit to conceal carry a gun, why not a knife? Am I wrong in how I read the statutes?

  5. As someone who has a Wyoming CFP,for reciprocity in other states, I am fully aware of the state’s laws. Yes, Wyoming did pass a law under Mead stating that Wyoming residents do not need a CFP to carry a concealed firearm within the state. However, as with the CFP this applies only to handguns, not long guns, knives, etc. I can provide even more clarification as a work associate’s son was recently arrested, during 2014, in Cheyenne for concealed carry of a knife over 3″ long.

  6. The Wyoming ccw law passed in 2012 only includes a handgun by definition and does not include knives or anyother deadly weapon. However after speaking to my local police they are more worried about people carrying firearms illegally than putting a pocket knife in your pants. 95% of the officers up here will not charge you however it only takes 1 to charge you.

  7. I’ve heard from people saying that kids are aloud to bring a knife to school along as it’s as long as your index finger. Is that true?


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here